Polka dancing with my sweetheart

It's a Valentine's Day Polka Party at the The Plaza Hotel in Wausau, Wis. (Photo by Keith Uhlig)
It’s a Valentine’s Day Polka Party at the The Plaza Hotel & Suites in Wausau, Wis. (Photo by Keith Uhlig)

I pulled on my cowboy boots, Jen buttoned up her red gingham shirt and we headed deep into Wisconsin for a mid-winter polka party.

Happy Valentine’s Day, baby.

We traveled to the heart of the north woods this weekend for the Valentine’s Dance at the Plaza Hotel & Suites in Wausau, Wisconsin. Dan Gury & the Dyna Dukes along with the New Generation Band alternated stages while they performed for a few hundred people in the hotel banquet room last night.

Our gracious Wausau hosts, Keith & Kris Uhlig joined in the fun.

Polka is the happiest music on the face of the earth, so I can think of no better Valentine’s Day date than a spin around the dance floor with Jen, watching her smile and laugh. I only wish I could dance better, my crazy-legs, two-step clearly endangered the octogenarian, young children and high-speed, polka pros on the floor.

And what a dance floor. Party organizers installed a portable, plywood floor over the banquet room carpet. I was like dancing on a trampoline the size of a basketball court. We danced so much I think I injured my back.

No matter, a plastic cup and $3.50 will get you 12-ounces of Point beer to ease the pain.

And what’s going on today to top the party?

We’ll slap on the snowshoes or a hike in the shadows of Rib Mountain.

Singing the “I Wanna Call You Sweetheart Polka” all the way.

Leave a Reply

