The ice climber in me speaks

That's me on the High Falls of the Baptism River at Tettegouche State Park.
That’s me on the High Falls of the Baptism River at Tettegouche State Park.

So I’m an ice climber now.

Last weekend I did the High Falls on the Baptism River in Tettegouche.  Almost 10 stories tall – the highest f-ing waterfall in the state of Minnesota. Do it again too but it’s been a real f-ed up season.

Love this sh** though.

Relieves the stress and all the other bull sh**.  Puts me on the edge.

I’m not one of those commercial guys.

Bought an orange crash helmet myself. About 500 feet of good rope. Some goggles, a waterproof black jacket, crampons sharp enough to slice Firestones and two ice axes that make my f-ing arms look like crab claws.

A few hundred dollars worth of sh**.

What elses an old welder gonna to do with his dough?

Climbing the High Falls, or any other F-ing icebergs a total rush. Speeds you up & slows you down. Like a pack a Camels. It’s good for me – both mental & physical. You know I teach vets with PTSD how to do this sh**. It’s gotta be rush for them too. I dunno. Didn’t do any shooting like them, but did some shooting up. Paid a price for it too. Health scares. Lost my f-ing teeth. Hairs mostly gone. Chemo for…well I don’t want to get into that sh**. I’m clean now. No drugs. No alcohol. A little pot now & then.

Is it dangerous?

Ya.

I was up there once and a chunk gave way, threw me into the falls. Water comin’ down on me, couldn’t get out of it for five F-ed up minutes. No one around. Finally got an axe on something & got the F out it. Some bad sh**.

But I gotta keep doin’ it.

Keeps me goin’

Alright. Gonna swing the rope over closer to the falls. You’ll get better pictures that way.

See ya at the top.

Celebrating on top of the High Falls of the Baptism River at Tettegouche State Park.
My celebration pose on top of the High Falls of the Baptism River at Tettegouche State Park.

 

4 thoughts on “The ice climber in me speaks

Leave a Reply

