Homegrowning the Duluth Music Festival

The duo Mama's Stolen Horses played in the Bent Paddle Brewery warehouse Monday night during the Duluth Homegrown Music Festival.
The duo Mama’s Stolen Horses played in the Bent Paddle Brewery warehouse Monday night during the Duluth Homegrown Music Festival.

Hey Nick Up North readers, follow along this weekend as I dive into the guts of the massive weeklong Duluth Homegrown Music Festival.  I’ll file my field reports on a special Duluth News Tribune website created for the festival.

Come with me as I scour the crowded bars, dusty theaters and dark alleys for rock and roll mayhem in this annual Duluth music Mardi Gras.

I call it “homegrowning.”

Now in its 18th year, The seven-day Duluth Homegrown Music Festival features 200 local bands playing in more than 40 different venues throughout the Twin Ports. Thousands of music fans (and one deranged chicken) will listen to as much live music as they can before their legs melt and ears fall off. This year’s event features everything from international rock icons Low, to rising star Gaelynn Lea, to a punk rock band called Mr. Kickass. Rap, reggae, country, classical and belly dancing, it’s a mixed up, week-long musical circus.

I love it.

Jen, right, and her friends Paula, left, and Eve, met the Homegrown Chicken during a concert at Clyde Iron Works Wednesday night.
Jen, right, and her friends Paula, left, and Eve, met the Homegrown Chicken during a concert at Clyde Iron Works Wednesday night.

When News Tribune editors asked me to supply eye-witness reports from the Homegrown front lines Monday night I couldn’t say yes fast enough. I strapped on an all-access wristband, bought a pair of ear plugs and stormed the stage. My first report hit the world-wide web Tuesday morning. The festival comes to a roaring climax Saturday night. I just hope I have enough energy to write about it on Sunday morning.

I guess that’s why the Homegrown Chicken created coffee.

So if you can’t make it to Duluth this weekend, don’t worry. The Homegrown Chicken also created the Internet.

Just tune in on the Web and do your own “homegrowning” with Nick Up North.

One thought on “Homegrowning the Duluth Music Festival

Leave a Reply

