A Canadian cow hops freight to Superior

Cows like to ride the rails too.

I snapped this picture at the Hammond Avenue railroad crossing in Superior, Wis. last Monday. My truck was the second vehicle in line heading north back to Duluth when a freight train passed through town. The automatic stop arms halted traffic. I saw this image coming down the tracks, grabbed my camera phone and dashed over to the sidewalk.

I snapped this picture at the Hammond Avenue railroad crossing in Superior, Wis. the other day. It looks like this black angus cow hopped a freight south. Not sure where its headed.

Judging by the signage, the locomotive may have originated in Canada. I have no idea where it was going. It looks like the cow is standing atop a grain hauler, so it’s entirely possible the train was headed for the Superior grain elevator docks.

Don’t worry: There are no meat-packing plants in Superior.

I couldn’t find any dairy farm or creamery listings in Superior either.

My best guess is the cow spent the night under a bridge, then caught the next freight south, deeper into Wisconsin.

Hobo cow, looking for work in dairy land.

Leave a Reply

